Kane County Government
How Do I
Recycling Information
Phone: 630.208.3841
Fax: 630.208.3837
Email: recycle@countyofkane.org


BatteriesHousehold dry-cell batteries (A, AA, AAA, C, D, 9V, 12V, etc, coin, and button) contain high levels of heavy metals, including cadmium, lead and mercury, which can contaminate the environment. Each year, Kane County households dispose of almost 200,000 pounds of these batteries. The best way to reduce waste with batteries is to invest in a small battery charger and buy rechargeable batteries. Rechargeable batteries make better use of resources, because you can use them multiple times before recycling, and there are many locations to recycle rechargeable batteries.

Single-use Household Battery Recycling

Single use household batteries are recyclable at drop-off locations or curbside in some areas. The following towns and villages have Curbside Battery Collection:

City of Aurora
City of Batavia
Village of Elburn
City of Elgin
City of Geneva
Village of Hampshire
Village of Maple Park
Village of North Aurora
City of St. Charles
Village of Sugar Grove

If you do not have curbside collection, you can deliver them to the drop-offs listed below. To recycle: first tape over the tops of all batteries as they are a potential fire hazard, then place used batteries in a clear resealable plastic bag. Place bagged batteries on ground next to recycling bin or with lidded carts place bag on top of recycling cart. Do not include large wet cell or lead acid batteries (like car, truck, and boat batteries). See below for more info on wet cell batteries.

Lead-acid Batteries

Car Battery

Larger lead-acid batteries from autos, boats, sump pumps, and the like may be taken to any store that sells these batteries. The store will accept them for free or a small charge. These batteries are totally recycled including the lead plates, battery acid, and plastic case. They can also be delivered to the Naperville Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off.

Naperville Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off
Naperville Fire Station #4
1971 Brookdale Road, Naperville
Cnr Route 59 & Brookdale (1/2 mile south of I-88)
Enquiries: M-F Public Works Office: 630-420-609
Drop-off: 9am�2pm every Saturday & Sunday (except holidays)


(open 24 hours, unless otherwise indicated)

Elgin Township Highway Garage
725 S. McLean Blvd.
South Elgin, IL 60123

Elgin Fire Station #2
650 Big Timber Road
Elgin, IL 60123
(1/4 mile West of Route 31)

Pingree Grove Fire Station
39W160 Plank Rd.
Elgin, IL 60124

South Elgin Fire District Annex
8N709 Stevens Rd.
South Elgin, IL 60124
(cnr Hopps and Stevens Roads)

Village of Montgomery Police Department
10 Civic Center Avenue
 Montgomery, IL 60506
630-896-8080 ext. 1114

Village of Montgomery
Village Hall 200 N. River Street
Montgomery, IL 60538
M-F 8am - 4:30pm