Kane County Government
How Do I

Kane County Development and Community Services Department

Development and Community Services​

Historic Preservation Commission

Shauna Wiet, Chairperson

Created by a County Board ordinance on June 14, 1988, the Commission is charged with the duties of accepting nominations for sites, districts, or road corridors, which might qualify as historic landmarks and of determining whether or not to recommend that they be designated as such by the County Board. Once a site is designated as historic, no significant alterations, exterior construction, or demolition may be undertaken without a "certificate of appropriateness" from the Commission.

The nine members of the Commission, appointed by the County Board, are drawn from all geographic sections of the County. Ex-officio members are the Director of the Kane County Development and Community Services Department and the President of the Kane County Forest Preserve Commission. Meetings take place at 7:00 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of each month at the Kane County Government Center, 719 Batavia Avenue (Rt. 31), Geneva.

Click to view the Kane County Historic Landmarks Map​.

Click to apply for the Certificate of Appropriateness For Exterior to Kane County Landmark​.

For more information, contact Julia Thavong, Preservation Planner, at 630-208-5347.​