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Under  Illinois  law,  property  taxes  are  the  primary means  of 
funding local governments.   Property taxes are developed from 
two components:  the taxes levied by each local government tax‐
ing district, and  the  relaƟve value of each  taxable parcel  in  the 
boundaries of each taxing district.    
Simply  put,  the  Illinois  property  tax  system  divides  up  each  

local  government  taxing  district’s  property  tax  levy  over  all  
                                                                                   (conƟnued on next page) 

Property	Tax	Overview	



Homestead	Exemptions	
Homestead ExempƟons  reduce  the Equalized Assessed Value 

(EAV) of a property by a specific amount prior to property taxes 
being  calculated;  the  actual  tax  savings  depends  upon  the  tax 
rate for a specific property.   

 Homestead exempƟons are typically available for properƟes 
that are occupied by  their owners or persons with  legal or 
equitable interest as of January 1 of the taxable year. 

 The owner or person with  legal or equitable  interest must 
also be legally liable for the payment of the property tax bill 
for that year, which will be payable in the following year.  

 Homestead exempƟons may also be available  for coopera‐
Ɵves and qualified life‐care faciliƟes; contact the County As‐
sessment Office for more informaƟon. 

 
The General Homestead ExempƟon reduces a property’s EAV 

by up to $6,000 before the tax rate is applied.  

 ApplicaƟons are available at KaneCountyAssessments.org or 
by calling (630) 208‐3818. 

 In most cases, no annual reapplicaƟon  is required aŌer the 
iniƟal approval. 

 
The Senior CiƟzen Homestead ExempƟon reduces a property’s 

EAV by up to $4,000 before the tax rate is applied.   

 To qualify, an owner must be 65 or older by December 31 of 
the tax assessment year.   

 If  a property  is owned  and occupied by  a married  couple, 
only one of the two owner‐occupants must be 65. 

(ConƟnued from prior page)                       
parcels  in the district, based on each parcel’s proporƟonate as‐
sessed value as a percentage of the aggregate assessed property 
value in the district.   
This guide is jointly developed by the three Kane County offic‐

es charged with administering the property tax code to help tax‐
payers beƩer understand the system. 



 ApplicaƟons are available at KaneCountyAssessments.org or 
by calling (630) 208‐3818. 

 In most cases, no annual reapplicaƟon  is required aŌer the 
iniƟal approval. 

 Any taxpayer receiving this exempƟon will be mailed an ap‐
plicaƟon for the Senior Assessment Freeze each year. 

 
The Senior CiƟzen Assessment Freeze Homestead ExempƟon 

effecƟvely freezes the EAV at a base year (the year prior to the 
first  year’s  approval)  prevenƟng  the  net  assessment  from  in‐
creasing. 

 This does not freeze a property’s taxes, only the assessment.  

 To  qualify, a property must be the principal residence of the 
owner  for  the beginning of  two consecuƟve years, and  the 
owner must be 65 or older by December 31 of  the  tax as‐
sessment year and meet certain household income require‐
ments. 

 If owned and occupied by a married couple, only one of the 
two owner‐occupants must be 65. 

 The  maximum  household  income  for  this  exempƟon  is 
$55,000.  

 ApplicaƟons are available at KaneCountyAssessments.org or 
by calling (630) 208‐3818.  

 AŌer  the  iniƟal  applicaƟon  is  approved,  the  qualifying 
homeowners  will  be  mailed  a  renewal  form  each  subse‐
quent year. 

 Annual reapplicaƟon is required to maintain this exemp-
Ɵon. 

 If a property value falls below the base year for any reason 
other than a temporary change caused by “temporary irreg‐
ularity”, the new lower value will become the new base‐year 
EAV.   

Homestead	Exemptions	



Homestead	Exemptions	

The  Homestead Improvement ExempƟon reduces  the  EAV 
aƩributable to a new  improvement to an exisƟng residence of a 
property  for  four  years  based  on  the  Fair  Cash  Value  (up  to 
$75,000) of the improvement. 

 To qualify, a property must be the principal residence of the 
owner,  and have new  improvements  (such  as  an  addiƟon, 
paƟo, or deck)  to  the  residence  that  increase  the  value of 
the property 

 No applicaƟon is required; the Township Assessor will cerƟfy 
the amount to the County Assessment Office when the new 
improvement is assessed for the first Ɵme. 

 QuesƟons on this exempƟon should be directed to the prop‐
erty’s Township Assessor. 

There are several addiƟonal homestead exempƟons: 

 The Returning Veterans’ ExempƟon is a $5,000 reducƟon in 
EAV  for  veteran  homeowners  for  the  first  two  years  aŌer 
they return from an armed conflict.  

 The Disabled Veterans’ Standard ExempƟon  is a  reducƟon 
in EAV up  to $5,000  for veteran homeowners with service‐
connected disabiliƟes. 

 The Disabled Veterans’ ExempƟon  is a reducƟon  in EAV up 
to $70,000 for veteran homeowners with service‐connected 
disabiliƟes who require Specially Adapted Housing. 

 The Disabled Persons’ ExempƟon  is  a  $2,000  reducƟon  in 
EAV for disabled homeowners.  

 The  Natural Disaster ExempƟon provides  relief  from  in‐
creased EAVs due to the reconstrucƟon of a home in certain 
circumstances aŌer a natural  disaster. 

 
Contact  the  County Assessment Office  at  (630)  208‐3818  for 

more informaƟon on these exempƟons. 
 
 



Each homestead exempƟon is designed to reduce the tax bur‐
den of  a qualifying property by  lowering  the  assessment upon 
which the tax bill  is based.    In Kane County, tax rates can range 
from lower than 6% to higher than 10%; they can be even higher 
if a property is in a special‐service area. 
In the following example, a senior ciƟzen homeowner lives in a 

house with a fair cash value of $235,000; the homeowner  is  liv‐
ing off  savings, and has an  income  that qualifies  for  the  senior 
freeze with  a  base‐year  EAV  of  $56,657.    The  benefits  of  the 
available homestead exempƟons, based on a property tax rate of 
7.50%, are:   
 

 
 
To  get  applicaƟon  forms  or more  informaƟon  on  homestead  

exempƟons, call the Kane County Assessment Office at (630) 208
‐3818 or visit KaneCountyAssessments.org. 

  
Without 

ExempƟons 
  

With 
ExempƟons 

Property Value  $235,000   $235,000 

Level of Assessment  33.33%   33.33% 

Equalized Assessed Value  $78,326   $78,326 

ExempƟons        

   General       ($6,000) 

   Senior CiƟzen      ($4,000) 

     Senior Freeze ($56,657 base year)      ($21,659) 

Net ValuaƟon  $78,326   $46,667 

EsƟmated Tax Rate  X  7.50%   X  7.50% 

Tax Dollars Due  $5,874   $3,500 

Total Tax Savings from exempƟons:  $2,374 (40%) 

Homestead	Exemptions	



Frequently	Asked	Questions	

Q:  My assessed value declined; why did my tax bill go up?  
A:  Your taxes may be higher than they were last year for any or 

all of four general reasons: 
 The    local    governments  (such    as   municipaliƟes  and 

schools)   in   your  area  may  have approved a higher tax 
levy than last year. 

 While most  properƟes  in  the  county  have  a  lower  val‐
ue  than  last  year,  the  rate  of decline  can  be  different.   
If  your  property’s  value  declined  at  a  faster  rate  than  
the average decline  in  your  area  (say  20% as  compared 
to an  8% average), your  relaƟve  tax burden will  be  less 
than  it was  last  year.   If  your  property’s  value declined 
at  a  slower  rate  than  the  average decline  in  your  area 
(say 5% as compared to an 8% average), your relaƟve tax 
burden will be more than it was last year. 

 You may not  be  receiving all  of  the  homestead exemp‐
Ɵons for which your property  is eligible. 

 Other  properƟes  in  your  area  may  qualify  for  one  or 
more  homestead exempƟons  for which you are not eligi‐
ble. 

 Q: Does Kane County decide how much  in property tax the  lo‐
cal governments  (such as schools and municipaliƟes)  in my 
area can levy?  

A:  No. Each local government makes this decision independent‐
ly; Kane County has no  authority  to  issue  any property  tax 
levy but its own.  

Q:  How does the Tax Cap law apply to Kane County? 
A: Kane County  is under  the Property Tax Extension  LimitaƟon 

Law which places a limitaƟon on the total amount of proper‐
ty tax that can be levied by most local governments. General‐
ly, the law limits the increase of a local government’s tax levy 
by  5%  or  the  rate  or  inflaƟon  (whichever  is  less)  over  the 
highest levy of the prior three years. The tax caps are not ap‐



Frequently	Asked	Questions	
plicable to:  
•  Increases due to newly constructed property;  
•  Bonded indebtedness of a local government;  
•  Home  Rule  communiƟes  such  as  Aurora,  Batavia,  Elgin, 

and St. Charles; and  
•  Increases approved by the voters through referenda.  

  This law provides that a local government’s property tax levy 
is developed  independent of property  values,  and property 
taxes can rise or fall regardless of what happens to property 
values.  

Q:  What can I do to minimize my property tax burden? 
A: Call  the County Assessment Office  to verify  that you are re‐

ceiving  the  exempƟons  for which  you  qualify.    If  you  have 
quesƟons about  the  rate charged by a  specific  taxing body, 
we  suggest  that  you  contact  that  taxing body.    If  you have 
specific quesƟons about your assessed valuaƟon, please con‐
tact your township assessor. 

Q:  How is my property’s assessment determined? 
A: For  most  non‐farm  property,  the  Township  Assessor  esƟ‐

mates the fair cash value of the property, and then develops 
an assessed value based on 33.33% of that fair cash value of 
the property as of  January 1 of  the assessment year, based 
on  the  three prior years of sales.   The Supervisor of Assess‐
ments then equalizes all assessments to provide for uniform 
valuaƟons  in  the  County.  InformaƟon  about  farm  assess‐
ments can be obtained from the County Assessment Office. 

Q:  What should I do if I think my property is over‐assessed? 
A: We  recommend  first  discussing  your  assessment  with  the 

township  assessor.    If  you wish  to  formally  appeal  your  as‐
sessment,  you  can  file  a  complaint  with  the  Kane  County 
Board of Review. There are generally three bases for appeal‐
ing an assessment: 



Frequently	Asked	Questions	
 Discrepancy in Physical Data (“The property records show 

I have a 2,400‐square‐foot house, but my  survey  shows 
I’ve got only 2,200 square feet.”) 

 ValuaƟon  (“The equalized assessed value  is greater than 
1/3 of my property’s fair cash value”). 

 Equity (“My equalized assessed value is greater than com‐
parable properƟes in my neighborhood.”) 

Please  note  that  the  state  Property  Tax  Appeal  Board  has 
consistently ruled that the amount of taxes paid or percent‐
age of change in value from one year to the next is not a valid 
basis for an appeal.  

Q:  When can I file an assessment complaint with the Board of 
Review? 

A:  By state  law, assessment complaints  for a  township may be 
filed up to 30 days aŌer a reassessment noƟce is published in 
a  local newspaper.   You can  receive an e‐mail noƟce of  the 
publicaƟon  of  a  township  assessment  roll  by  visiƟng 
KaneCountyAssessments.org,  selecƟng  the  “subscribe”  link, 
and entering your e‐mail address. 

Q:  How can I compare the assessed value of my property to the 
assessed values of similar homes in my area? 

A: You  have  the  right  to  inspect  the  township  assessor’s  rec‐
ords, which  contain  assessed  values  as well  as  other  infor‐
maƟon.  You may inspect the records for any parcel of prop‐
erty, as well as the records for your own property, subject to 
reasonable regulaƟons set forth by local officials. 

Q:  Will I be noƟfied if my assessment is going to be increased? 
A: By state law, noƟces of all assessment changes are published 

in a local newspaper.  Also, if the Township Assessor changes 
your assessment, you will be noƟfied by U.S. Mail sent to the 
same address where your tax bill  is sent. You can automaƟ‐
cally receive e‐mail noƟficaƟon of assessment roll publicaƟon 



Frequently	Asked	Questions	
by visiƟng us on the web at KaneCountyAssessments.org, se‐
lecƟng “subscribe”, and entering your e‐mail address. 

Q:  When I get my tax bill, is it too late to file a complaint? 
A: Yes,  it  is  too  late unless  you have  already  taken  your  com‐

plaint to the Board of Review. 

Q:  What will happen if I don’t pay my property taxes? 
A: Your taxes may be sold at the annual tax sale.    If your taxes 

are sold, you will retain the right to redeem your property for 
two and one‐half years if  it  is your principal dwelling.   Other 
property must be redeemed within two years.  To redeem it, 
you will have to pay costs and interest in addiƟon to any tax 
due.    For more  informaƟon,  contact  the County Clerk’s Tax 
RedempƟon Department. 

Q:  My mortgage company pays my taxes.  Why did I get a bill? 
A: Most mortgage companies pay electronically, and do not re‐

quire  a  bill.   We  suggest  that  you  contact  your mortgage 
company to confirm.  A bill is mailed to you for your records.  
Many school districts, park districts, and libraries require you 
to show your tax bill to prove residency. 

Q:  I didn’t pay my taxes last year.  How can I find out how 
much I owe? 

A: Call  the  Kane  County  Clerk  and  ask  for  an  EsƟmate  of  Re‐
dempƟon; have your parcel number ready when you call. 

Q:  I didn’t live here last year.  Why did I receive a tax bill for 
that year? 

A: The  tax  remains with  the property  regardless of ownership.  
To  determine  your  liability  for  paying  the  tax,  check  your 
closing statement to see if the seller gave you credit, or con‐
tact your aƩorney. 

Q:  I don’t know my parcel index number (PIN); how can I get it? 
A: Your PIN  is on your property  tax bill or on your assessment 



Frequently	Asked	Questions	
noƟce.   You can also get your PIN by contacƟng your  town‐
ship  assessor,  the  County  Assessment  Office,  or  selecƟng 
“property search” at KaneCountyAssessments.org.  

Q:  If I pay by mail how can I get a receipt? 
A: AŌer the payment is processed, proof of payment is available 

on the Treasurer’s web site at KaneCountyTreasurer.org.  

Q:  Is there a charge for a duplicate copy of my bill? 
A: It can be obtained from the Treasurer’s office for $2.00 or  it 

can be printed for free at KaneCountyTreasurer.org. 

Q.  How do I change the mailing address on my tax bill? 
A.  Each tax bill has a pre‐printed form on the back, also the form 

can be downloaded from both the Treasurer’s and Supervisor 
of Assessments’ web site. 

Q.  Where can I make my real estate tax payments? 
A.  At  numerous  banks within  Kane  County,  at  the  Treasurer’s 

office, by mail, over the internet by credit card, and a 24‐hour 
drive  up  drop  box  behind  Building  “A”  at  the  Kane  County 
Government Center in Geneva. 

Q:  What if I have other quesƟons? 
A: For quesƟons about: 

 Property ValuaƟon,  contact  your  Township  Assessor;  a 
directory is at KaneCountyAssessments.org/Assessors. 

 ExempƟons or Appeals, call the County Assessment Office 
at (630) 208‐3818 or visit KaneCountyAssessments.org. 

 Tax Rates or Tax RedempƟon, call the Kane County Clerk 
at (630) 232‐5964 or visit KaneCountyClerk.org. 

 Tax bills or payments, call Kane County Treasurer 
 at (630) 232‐3565 or visit KaneCountyTreasurer.org. 

 Other Kane County issues, visit www.CountyofKane.org. 
 



Who	To	Contact	
Assessed ValuaƟons or Complaints ...................... Township Assessor 
 or County Assessment Office 
Budgets and Levies ................................................ Local Governments 
 or  County Clerk’s Tax Extension Department 

Current Tax Bills/CollecƟon ..................................... County Treasurer 

Consumer Price Index ......................... U.S. Bureau of Labor StaƟsƟcs 

Delinquent Taxes 
     and RedempƟons .......... County Clerk’s Tax Extension Department 

Equalized Assessed ValuaƟon .................... County Assessment Office 

ExempƟons ................................................. County Assessment Office 

Forfeitures ................................................................ County Treasurer 

Foreclosures .................................................................. County Sheriff 

Mobile Home 
     RegistraƟon ................... County Clerk’s Tax Extension Department 

Mobile Home Tax Bills ............................................. County Treasurer 

Property Tax Caps ............. County Clerk’s Tax Extension Department 

Property Tax Rates ............ County Clerk’s Tax Extension Department 
 

Kane County Assessment Office 
719 South Batavia Avenue, Building C 

Geneva, Illinois 60134‐3000 
(630) 208‐3818 

Kane County Clerk/Tax Extension 
719 South Batavia Avenue, Building B 

Geneva, Illinois 60134‐3000  
(630) 232‐5964 

Kane County Treasurer 
719 South Batavia Avenue, Building A 

Geneva, Illinois 60134‐3000 
(630) 232‐3565 
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